2016 BBYF Scholarship Recipients And Finalists Honored

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has chosen the recipients of the thirty-seven $2,500 college scholarships for this year. The recipients and finalists were honored April 17th at the annual Scholarship Celebration held at the University of Texas at Arlington. Click here to see the lists of 2015/2016 recipients.

"The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is very proud to be able to award BBYF scholarships to these very deserving young men and women," said Chris Lewis, BBYF president. "Our foundation is so unique in that we are making parents and students aware of the college experience and the associated cost of college at a very early stage in these young people's academic careers."

This year, the foundation received a record number of 253 applications from 131 schools located in 21 independent school districts and two charter schools.  The BBYF scholarship committee reviewed each application in depth, eventually choosing 37 eighth graders to receive the promise of a college scholarship upon graduation from high school and enrollment in college.


Past BBYF winners share their advice about their high school experience.

Author and BBYF Board Member Talmage Boston

(Photos by Bob Haynes)

One of the drivers of the record number of entries was 100% participation by the Fort Worth Independent School District’s 26 middle schools. This marked the first time in 15 years that every FWISD middle school participated, and resulted in six FWISD scholarship recipients from Benbrook, Handley, Jacquet, McLean, Meacham, and Meadowbrook middle schools.

“We especially want to recognize FWISD school board member, Tobi Jackson, and the FWISD Professional Development Department for helping us achieve a 100% participation rate by FWISD middle schools,” Lewis said. “We have never had this level of involvement from the Fort Worth public schools in the past!”

The board of the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation would like to thank all of the students who participated in the 2015/2016 BBYF scholarship program, either as a participant, finalist, or eventual recipient. The exercise of filling out a BBYF scholarship application prepares students for the college selection process, and sets them on a course for future success.

Scholarship Recipients
Name, School, District

Jennifer Alvarado, Edward H. Cary Middle School, Dallas
Benjamin Bathan, Danny Jones Middle School, Mansfield
Alexis Bechtel, Central Junior High School, Hurst-Euless-Bedford
Micah Bryant, Loflin Middle School, Joshua
Dominique Castanheira, George B. Dealey Middle School, Dallas
Ray Chang, Young Junior High School, Arlington
Graham Chernik, Dawson Middle School, Carroll
Anja Cronjaeger, Alex W. Spence Talented/Gifted Academy, Dallas
Reanne De’Souza, Jacquet Middle School, Fort Worth
Macy Farr, Creekview Middle School, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw
Tal Feldman, Fort Worth Academy Fine Arts, Charter
Ethan Gonzales, Brewer Middle School, White Settlement
Roe Hale, Boles Junior High School, Arlington
Anna Huynh, Meadowbrook Middle School, Fort Worth
Elizabeth Hyun, Heritage Middle School, Grapevine-Colleyville
Varshini Krishnan, Heritage Middle School, Grapevine-Colleyville
Sarah Lewis, Young Junior High School, Arlington
Claire Lyons, Benbrook Middle School, Fort Worth
Morgan Martin, Smithfield Middle School, Birdville
Grace Mihills, Boles Junior High School, Arlington
Parker Morgan, Indian Springs Middle School, Keller
Abigail Nguyen, Danny Jones Middle School, Mansfield
Austin Nguyen, Medlin Middle School, Northwest
Thao Nguyen, Handley Middle School, Fort Worth
Olivia Northcutt-Wyly, William B. Travis Middle School, Dallas
Ebunoluwa Omoniyi, Keller Middle School, Keller
Mariana Ramirez, Andrew Jackson Middle School, Grand Prairie
Seth Rasmussen, Loflin Middle School, Joshua
Aracely Rodriguez, Meacham Middle School, Fort Worth
Daisy Sanchez, William P. McLean Middle School, Fort Worth
Nikhita Sathish, Keller Middle School , Keller
Britany Scieneaux, Brewer Middle School, White Settlement
Serena Shabout, Timberview Mddle School, Keller
Austin Sundara, North Oaks Middle School, Birdville
Michael Thilges, Smithfield Middle School, Birdville
Bailey Utterback, Highland Middle School, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw
Olivia Zelling, Colleyville Middle School, Grapevine-Colleyville

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack