FWISD School Board Invites Its BBYF Winners To March Meeting

Tobi Jackson, Fort Worth Independent School District school board member, District 2, arranged for this year's six Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation scholarship recipients to be introduced at the school board's March 22nd meeting. This year the FWISD reached 100 percent participation by its middle schools, which was a 36 percent increase over the previous year. Four of the six FWISD recipients are from schools that had very little participation in the program prior to this year, with one recipient attending a school that has never had a winner in the 25-year history of the BBYF program. These results underscore that by encouraging and providing tools for participation, a school district can achieve great results and reach students who are especially deserving of this award.

The 2015/2016 BBYF recipients include Re'Anne De'Souza from J. Martin Jacquet Middle School (formerly Dunbar Middle School), Anna Huynh from Meadowbrook Middle School, Claire Lyons from Benbrook Middle School, Thao Nguyen from Handley Middle School, Aracely Rodriguez from Meacham Middle School, and Daisy Sanchez from W.P. McLean Middle School.

BBYF board president Chris Lewis thanked members of the FWISD Professional Development team for providing innovative methods and materials for middle school teachers, which was instrumental in bringing about full participation in this year's program.


Joomla Templates by Joomlashack