Fort Worth Proclaims Monday 'Bobby Bragan Day'

Monday Oct. 30 was "Bobby Bragan Day" in Fort Worth as the city and the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation marked the 100th anniversary of his birth.  Click here to view the official proclamation from Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price.

Bobby, who passed away at age 92 in 2010, was born in Birmingham, Alabama on Oct. 30, 1917.  He was known as "Mr. Baseball" in Fort Worth thanks in part to his long baseball career as well as the fact that he was the player/manager of the Fort Worth Cats from 1948-1952. Bragan played for the Brooklyn Dodgers and would go on to manage in the majors for the Pirates, Indians and Braves. He managed a number of great baseball players including Hall of Famers Roberto Clemente, Bill Mazeroski, Hank Aaron, Eddie Mathews and Warren Spahn just to name a few. 

His legacy continues through the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation which has supported youth scholarships across the Metroplex for 26 years.

Hargrove Honored As First Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Winner

Hunter Hargrove, the inaugural winner of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award was honored on Sept. 26 at the Bragan Awards Gala. Hargrove, who plays for Texas Tech, was selected as the winner of the award this spring. A senior from Mansfield, Texas, Hargrove will graduate in December. He was the Big 12 Conference Co-Player of the Year.

Hargrove was interviewed on stage by former big league pitcher and broadcaster Steve Busby.

Click here to read the Fort Worth Business Press' coverage of the gala. 

The annual gala, which has honored some of the biggest names in the world of sports and philanthropy over the past two decades, is the primary annual fundraiser for the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation.

Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Unveils 2017 Watch List

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced today the players on the watch list for the 2017 award. The award was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas. There are 22 players on the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award watch list from 17 Division I programs in the state. 

The award is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity. The winner of the 2017 award will be announced on June 12 and honored at a gala in the fall. Please click "Read More" to view the watch list. 

2017 Scholarship Recipients, Finalists Honored

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is proud to announce the 34 recipients of a $2,500 scholarship for 2017. The Scholarship Celebration to present the awards was held Sunday, April 2nd in the Lone Star Auditorium in the Maverick Activities Center on the campus of the University of Texas at Arlington. Please click Read More to view the scholarship recipients and photos from the event.

The board of the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation would like to thank all of the students who participated in the 2016/2017 BBYF scholarship program, either as a participant, finalist, or eventual recipient. The exercise of filling out a BBYF scholarship application prepares students for the college selection process, and sets them on a course for future success.

Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Announces Committees

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced its advisory and selection committees today, setting up the foundation for the launch of its inaugural season in 2017. The award is open to nominations from all 21 Division I baseball programs in the state of Texas.

“We are very pleased with the groups we have been able to assemble to participate in our first season. It is a testament to Bobby Bragan and his foundation that such quality people have agreed to join this effort,” noted Selection Committee Chairman Chris Lewis.

There are eight members of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Advisory Committee including many familiar names from the worlds of baseball and media:

  • Dr. Bobby Brown – Former New York Yankee, president of the American League and renowned cardiologist.
  • Maury Wills – Former Dodger great, five-time All-Star and 1962 NL MVP
  • Eddie Robinson – Four-time All-Star, last living Cleveland Indian World Series winner and a baseball player and front office executive from the 1940s through the 1980s.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 13
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack