2016 BBYF Scholarship Recipients And Finalists Honored

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has chosen the recipients of the thirty-seven $2,500 college scholarships for this year. The recipients and finalists were honored April 17th at the annual Scholarship Celebration held at the University of Texas at Arlington. Click here to see the lists of 2015/2016 recipients.

"The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is very proud to be able to award BBYF scholarships to these very deserving young men and women," said Chris Lewis, BBYF president. "Our foundation is so unique in that we are making parents and students aware of the college experience and the associated cost of college at a very early stage in these young people's academic careers."

This year, the foundation received a record number of 253 applications from 131 schools located in 21 independent school districts and two charter schools.  The BBYF scholarship committee reviewed each application in depth, eventually choosing 37 eighth graders to receive the promise of a college scholarship upon graduation from high school and enrollment in college.

FWISD School Board Invites Its BBYF Winners To March Meeting

Tobi Jackson, Fort Worth Independent School District school board member, District 2, arranged for this year's six Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation scholarship recipients to be introduced at the school board's March 22nd meeting. This year the FWISD reached 100 percent participation by its middle schools, which was a 36 percent increase over the previous year. Four of the six FWISD recipients are from schools that had very little participation in the program prior to this year, with one recipient attending a school that has never had a winner in the 25-year history of the BBYF program. These results underscore that by encouraging and providing tools for participation, a school district can achieve great results and reach students who are especially deserving of this award.

Tomlinson Honored at BBYF Lifetime Achievement Award Gala

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation honored former TCU and NFL running back LaDainian Tomlinson November 11th at its annual Lifetime Achievement Award Gala.

Click here to read the
Star-Telegram's coverage of the gala.In addition to his on-field accomplishments, Tomlinson is President/Co-Chairman of the Tomlinson Touching Lives Foundation. The gala took place at the Omni Fort Worth Hotel.

The evening also honored 2012 BBYF scholarship winners who will graduate next spring.


Record FWISD Participation in Scholarship Program

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation reports that 100 percent of Fort Worth ISD’s 26 middle schools are participating in the foundation’s 2015-2016 scholarship program. This is a significant increase from the 64 percent participation last year.

“This level of participation means many more of our students stand to win financial assistance for college,” said Fort Worth ISD District 2 Trustee Tobi Jackson. “I want to thank everyone who worked to make this happen, especially Dr. Lezley Lewis, Rediesha Allen, and Sharolyn Chitwood of Fort Worth ISD’s Professional Learning and Improvement Department, our college and career counseling coaches, our Academic Advisement team, and the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation.”

BBYF & Deena Jo Heide-Diesslin Foundation Announce Matching Gift Campaign

In 2011, Dave Diesslin established the Deena Jo Heide-Diesslin Foundation in memory of his wife, Deena. The goal of Deena Jo's foundation is to promote, encourage, and foster nonprofits, with a particular emphasis on empowering girls and women through education. Earlier this year Dave generously offered to provide seed money to the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation for a matching gift campaign, recognizing the shared mission of these two organizations. BBYF is pleased to announce this donation in the amount of $50,000.


<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 3 of 14
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack