A Salute to Bobby

Oct. 30 would have marked Bobby Bragan's 93rd birthday. Bobby's birthday was always accompanied by a big celebration, including last year when the Lifetime Achievement Award Gala coincided with his 92nd birthday (pictured right with Jim "The Rookie" Morris and Bobby's daughter Cissie.)

It was always a big celebration because every year that Fort Worth was blessed with the presence of Bobby Bragan was a gift. Also, Bobby no doubt would have been thrilled to have celebrated his 93rd birthday on the same day the Texas Rangers posted their first-ever win in a World Series game.  From the very beginning in 1972, it would be difficult to find a bigger Rangers' supporter than Bobby.

BBYF 2010 Gala Kickoff Luncheon

Members of the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation Gala Committee met recently for the 2010 Gala Kickoff Luncheon. The Lifetime Achievement Award Gala this year will take place on Nov. 18 at the Ridglea Country Club in Fort Worth and will honor Philanthropist T. Boone Pickens as well as the life and legacy of Bobby Bragan.

Pictured left to right: Greg Kalina, Gala Chairman Jamie Cashion, Martha Fry, Tracy Taylor, Board President Doug Jennings, Executive Director Janet Cooper, and Chris Lewis.

BBYF Board Members visit awards assemblies

L-R: North Richland Middle School principal Ernie Valamides, finalist Daniel Liu, scholarship winner Sasha Flowers, and BBYF board member Michael Davidson.The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation carries through on its mission of providing peer recognition for its winners and finalists by having board members available to attend 8th grade awards assemblies. At these assemblies board members have the opportunity to further honor these outstanding students in front of their friends and family, and bring more exposure to this worthy program.

This spring board members were asked to attend assemblies at 17 north Texas middle and junior high schools. These included Brooks Wester (Mansfield ISD), Summer Creek (Crowley ISD), Fossil Hill (Keller ISD), Central (HEB ISD), Gunn (Arlington ISD), Kennedale, Keller, North Richland, Dawson (Carroll ISD), Carroll, Bailey (Arlington ISD), Shackelford (Arlington ISD), Walker (Dallas ISD), Chisholm Trail (Northwest ISD), Hillwood (Keller ISD), McLean (Fort Worth ISD), and Daggett Montessori (Fort Worth ISD). Many thanks to BBYF board members Jim Beckman, Frank Carroll, Michael Davidson, Bobbie Edmonds, Michael Goodrich, Bob Hamilton, Doug Jennings, Greg Kalina, Julie Ladner, Chris Lewis, Paul Rogers, Tracy Taylor, and Doug White who attended one or more of these assemblies.

Pictured: North Richland Middle School principal Ernie Valamides, finalist Daniel Liu, scholarship winner Sasha Flowers, and BBYF board member Michael Davidson.

BBYF on Facebook

Find the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation Page on Facebook and click "Like" to stay up to date on the latest news and events surrounding the foundation. Plus, share your memories of Bobby and photos. 

Scholarship Winners honored at Rangers Ballpark

The 2010 Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation Scholarship Winners were recognzied on the field before the Rangers-Royals game on May 6 at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.

Thanks to the Rangers for their wonderful hospitality.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 7 of 14
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack