Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Unveils 2017 Watch List

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced today the players on the watch list for the 2017 award. The award was open to nominations from all Division I baseball programs in Texas. There are 22 players on the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award watch list from 17 Division I programs in the state. 

The award is based on performance at the plate, academics and personal integrity. The winner of the 2017 award will be announced on June 12 and honored at a gala in the fall. Please click "Read More" to view the watch list. 

Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Announces Committees

The Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award announced its advisory and selection committees today, setting up the foundation for the launch of its inaugural season in 2017. The award is open to nominations from all 21 Division I baseball programs in the state of Texas.

“We are very pleased with the groups we have been able to assemble to participate in our first season. It is a testament to Bobby Bragan and his foundation that such quality people have agreed to join this effort,” noted Selection Committee Chairman Chris Lewis.

There are eight members of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award Advisory Committee including many familiar names from the worlds of baseball and media:

  • Dr. Bobby Brown – Former New York Yankee, president of the American League and renowned cardiologist.
  • Maury Wills – Former Dodger great, five-time All-Star and 1962 NL MVP
  • Eddie Robinson – Four-time All-Star, last living Cleveland Indian World Series winner and a baseball player and front office executive from the 1940s through the 1980s.

2016 Senior Send-off at Joe T Garcia's

The fourth annual College Send-off Party, where the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation honors its scholarship winners who are headed off to college, was hosted by the foundation on Tuesday, June 7th at Joe T. Garcia's Mexican restaurant in Fort Worth.  BBYF uses this event as an opportunity to pair seniors with past BBYF recipients who are attending or recently attended the college and universities that the graduates will be going to in the fall.

The foundation is very proud of the impressive list of institutions that its 2012 winners have been accepted to, which include Austin College, Baylor University, Boston University, Duke University, East Texas Baptist University, Harvard University (at which two BBYF winners will be freshmen this fall), Johns Hopkins University, Missouri University of Science & Technology, New York University – United Arab Emirates campus, Northwestern University, Southwestern University (Georgetown), Syracuse University, Texas A & M University, Texas Christian University, Texas Tech University, University of California at Berkeley, University of Oklahoma, University of Southern California, University of Texas at Arlington, University of Texas at Dallas, Utah State University (Logan), and Yale University.

BBYF Honors U.S. Representative Roger Williams

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation honored Roger Williams, U. S. Representative and former TCU baseball player, at the 25th anniversary of its Lifetime Achievement Award Gala on November 2nd at the Fort Worth Club. Click "Read More" to view more photos from the evening.

Congressman Williams has been the U. S. Representative for Texas’s 25th Congressional District since 2013. Previously, he served under Governor Rick Perry as Secretary of State of Texas from November 2004 to July 2007.

Williams played baseball at TCU from 1968 to 1971 and was an All-Southwest Conference selection as an outfielder his freshman year. His stellar play led him to be named to TCU’s 1960s All-Decade Team. Williams was selected by the Atlanta Braves organization in the 1971 Major League Baseball draft and played three years of minor league baseball. He returned to Texas to coach TCU’s baseball team before he embarked on a career in business and public affairs.

2016 BBYF Scholarship Recipients And Finalists Honored

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation has chosen the recipients of the thirty-seven $2,500 college scholarships for this year. The recipients and finalists were honored April 17th at the annual Scholarship Celebration held at the University of Texas at Arlington. Click here to see the lists of 2015/2016 recipients.

"The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is very proud to be able to award BBYF scholarships to these very deserving young men and women," said Chris Lewis, BBYF president. "Our foundation is so unique in that we are making parents and students aware of the college experience and the associated cost of college at a very early stage in these young people's academic careers."

This year, the foundation received a record number of 253 applications from 131 schools located in 21 independent school districts and two charter schools.  The BBYF scholarship committee reviewed each application in depth, eventually choosing 37 eighth graders to receive the promise of a college scholarship upon graduation from high school and enrollment in college.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 14
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack